Ends on November 1, 2017

$25.00 USD

The winner of the Vern Rutsala Poetry Prize wins a cash prize of $1,000 and publication of his/ her book.


  • Simultaneous submissions and multiple submissions are acceptable. 
  • Revisions are not allowed during the contest.
  •  Manuscript submissions must be original. (If you include quotes from other works in your manuscript, please be sure they are clearly attributed to the author either on the same page or in a “Notes” section at the back of the manuscript.)
  • Manuscripts must be in English, although it is perfectly acceptable to include some text in other languages. 
  • Manuscripts must be previously unpublished, although individual poems in a manuscript are still eligible for this contest if they have been previously published in print or web magazines, journals, anthologies, or on a personal website.
  • Manuscripts should be 60 to 90 pages. Enclose two cover sheets with your submission, one with your contact information and one without.
  • This year's judge is Gary Young. 
  • All writers who enter the contest can receive a free back issue of Cloudbank or a copy of Towline by Holly Karapetkova, winner of The Vern Rutsala Book Prize 2016, when requested within the cover letter.
About the award:
Vern Rutsala taught at Lewis & Clark College in Portland, Oregon, for more than forty years. He authored 16 books and was the recipient of National Endowment for the Arts and Guggenheim fellowships. Rutsala's book His The Moment’s Equation was a finalist for the National Book Award in 2005. 

Sign up form

Please enter a valid email address.

Your password must be at least 6 characters.